The Swing mix – mixed by DJ SR

Track list:

1. One For Money – Horace Brown
2. Candy Rain – Soul 4Real
3. Sensitivity – Ralph Tresevant
4. Every little I do – Soul 4Real
5. Thats the way love goes – Janet Jackson
6. Get it on tonight – Montell Jordan
7. I like – Slick Rick – Montell Jordan
8. Who do you Love – LL Cool J
9. My fantasy – Mariah Carey
10. Dont walk away – Jade
11. Hi Five – The Kissing Game
12. Wrex N Effex – Rump Shaker
13. Don’t be Cruel – Bobby Brown
14. Is it good to you – Tammy Lucas Ft Teddy Riley
15. Candy – Cameo
16. All this loving – Gwen McRae
17. Never too much – Luther Vandross
18. Roses are Red – Mac Band
19. Poison Remix – BBD
20. Motownphilly – Boyz II Men
21. My Prerogative – Bobby Brown
22. Word Up – Cameo
23. Feels Good – Toni Tony Tone
24. Two Can Play That Game – Bobby Brown

This mixtape was the first of the mixtape collection. I made many mixtapes before on vinyl onto cassette however this was my first mixtape with me using scratchlive for two years. I didn’t plan for this to be a print onbody mix and for it to be the beginning of a popular collection. There was a girl in my office called Kelly and she did the samples of my DJ SR name.

I actually made this mix on New Years Day 2009 in the morning after having a big row with my girlfriend at the time – happened to be over New Year’s Eve London nightclub the night before. I had to take my mind off our row so I made a mixtape for the old skool R&B tracks that are most popular in London with the connoisseurs.

This R&B is what I and many people in their 30-40’s was the type of R&B we listened to as teenagers and kids before we started going out to London bars and nightclubs. It is not so commercial, I didn’t play any of these type of songs at the night before i.e the New Year’s Eve party at Hard Rock cafe and that’s why I made the mix to hear something different to what I played the night before.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *